Love enters our lives in multitudinous forms—family, friendship, passion, even (though not preferable) obsession. The Harry Potter series depicts this multifaceted nature of love, sometimes with true gravity, oftentimes quite humorously. It’s always a bit of a kick for me to revisit these ruminations on love, because each moment (whether poignant, absurd, or heartbreaking) is
0 Comments
When I was in elementary school in the ’90s, lots of books had the trope of two characters switching bodies. My cursory Internet research suggests that this trend has declined in popularity since 2000. Most people probably remember Freaky Friday, Mary Rodgers’s 1972 children’s novel that was adapted into plays, TV series, and movies several
0 Comments
Memoir is a nonfiction genre that I never paid much attention to. I felt like I never really wanted to read about lives that I had no connection to. I have tried to read memoirs in the past and they just did not sit well in my reading life. Perhaps the writing was just bad
0 Comments
If you’re a Lord of the Rings fan, maybe you’ve probably got a Gandalf-style cloak stashed away in your closet, or own 67 different editions of the book (yup, guilty) or have your favorite lines memorized. So obviously, what you (or your LOTR-loving bestie/sweetheart/kid/parent/etc.) need now is some beautiful Lord of the Rings earrings. From
0 Comments
I don’t often write posts covering one book. Book Riot isn’t a review site: we’re interested in your reading life and adjacent subjects, not on putting value judgments on whatever it is sparks joy when it enters your eyeballs (provided whatever that is doesn’t hurt anyone else). Every so often, however, a very special book—an
0 Comments
Posted by Lily, Associate Editor on December 17, 2018 When a rumor recently surfaced that Netflix was pulling “Friends” from its lineup at the end of the year, Twitter collectively lost its mind. No need to panic yet (Netflix has the rights to the ’90s phenomenon till the end of 2019), but the uproar proved
0 Comments
Posted by Savanna, Assistant Editor on December 13, 2018 This is always one of my favorite posts to put together—who wouldn’t want to gaze at shirtless men and glorious gowns? But this year’s list was particularly fun in that the noble art of the romance cover has been going through a much-noticed evolution, which is
0 Comments
Posted by Savanna, Assistant Editor on December 18, 2018 Every year, the BookPage editors get together to create the best books of the year list, but also its slightly more superficial stepsibling, the best covers list. It’s always a monumental undertaking to cut down and rank our extensive long list of covers that caught our
0 Comments
Posted by Savanna, Assistant Editor on January 08, 2019 Every month, we review the hottest new romance releases in our Romance column. But why let the print books have all the fun? In Digital Dalliances, we highlight digital-only releases guaranteed to heat up your eReader. Once Ghosted, Twice Shy by Alyssa ColeAvon Impule • $1.99 • ISBN
0 Comments
Posted by Savanna, Assistant Editor on January 16, 2019 Science fiction icon David Weber has been having a very busy few months—a new Honor Harrington novel was released in the fall, and Through Fiery Trials, the tenth installment in his extremely popular Safehold series just hit shelves this month. If you haven’t been able to
0 Comments
Posted by Hilli, Assistant Editor on January 30, 2019 We couldn’t be more excited to reveal the cover for bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen’s upcoming middle grade historical, Words on Fire, which will be published by Scholastic on September 24, 2019! In a story that sounds perfect for fans of The Book Thief, Nielsen will transport
0 Comments
Posted by Hilli, Assistant Editor on January 28, 2019 This morning the American Library Association (ALA) announced the top prizes in children’s and young adult literature, including the Caldecott, Newbery and Printz awards. Scroll on to see the full list of winners and read more about these acclaimed books! NEWBERY MEDAL, for the most outstanding contribution to children’s
0 Comments
We are huge fans of Shelly Laurenston here at BookPage HQ, so we were pretty much over the moon to learn that she’ll be releasing a new fantasy romance series under her other pen name, G.A. Aiken. The Scarred Earth Saga will kick off with The Blacksmith Queen on August 27, and it sounds like readers who
0 Comments
Posted by Stephanie, Director of Strategic Marketing on April 24, 2019 Recently, our BookPage marketing team spent time in Austin, Texas, at the Texas Library Association’s annual meeting. We made new friends, ate our weight in tacos and discovered the annual Lariat Reading List, which calls attention to outstanding adult fiction that is a “pleasure
0 Comments
Sponsored by Amazon Publishing and Don’t Look Down by Hilary Davidson. These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire soon, so get them while they’re hot! Today’s Featured Deals Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney for $2.99. Get it here, or just click on the cover image below. The Island of Sea Women by Lisa See
0 Comments
Chasten Glezman Buttigieg (L) kisses his husband, South Bend, Indiana Mayor Pete Buttigieg, after he delivered a keynote. (Ethan Miller/Getty Images) Anti-LGBT+ radio host Rush Limbaugh, who was recently awarded the Medal of Freedom by Donald Trump, has said Pete Buttigieg kissing his husband causes “problems” for parents. “So I saw a political ad, where
0 Comments
The Australian has dedicated an entire section of its website to “gender issues” (Recep Sakar/Anadolu Agency/Getty) National newspaper The Australian has sparked fury with an article that draws comparisons between the coronavirus and the “contagion” of transgender people. The newspaper is well known for its its “appalling” coverage of transgender issues, which includes articles such
0 Comments
RuPaul’s roused fear in The Tonight Show host Jimmy Fallon over him being called a ‘drag queen’. (Screen capture vids YouTube/NBC) The moment TV talkshow shot Jimmy Fallon called RuPaul a “drag queen”, he thought his career would come crashing down. Cancelled. Terminated. Last week, while interviewing the, well, drag queen on The Tonight Show,
0 Comments
Trans lawyer and Vietnam veteran Mia Yamamoto has slammed Donald Trump’s trans military ban as a “policy of exclusion, oppression and marginalisation by the government”. The Japanese-American lawyer made the comments in an address to a room of aspiring lawyers at NYU Law on February 10, student newspaper Washington Square News reports. The trans lawyer,
0 Comments
Labour Leadership Contender Emily Thornberry gestures as she speaks on stage during her Leadership Campaign Launch at Guildford Waterside Centre on January 17, 2020. (Leon Neal/Getty Images) Ask any Twitter user with a red rose and a rainbow flag in their bio and they’ll tell you that Labour shadow foreign secretary and leadership hopeful Emily
0 Comments
Bishop Thomas Paprocki said that gender dysphoria could be “reasonably compared” to anorexia. (Diocese of Springfield in Illinois) A Catholic bishop in Illinois, who performed an exorcism when same-sex marriage was legalised, has moved on to attacking trans people. Thomas Paprocki, bishop of Springfield, Illinois, previously held a mass “exorcism” following the legalisation of same-sex
0 Comments
Democratic lawmakers filed out during the anti-LGBT+, anti-abortion sermon by Robert Grant (right). (Virginia Political Memes/ YouTube) Democrats staged a dramatic walk-out of the Virginia House of Delegates on Tuesday, February 11, after a Republican-invited pastor began attacking same-sex marriage and abortion while leading a prayer. Reverend Robert Grant, senior pastor at The Father’s Way
0 Comments
Last night’s episode of The Late Show With Stephen Colbert featured a performance from musical guest Moses Sumney, marking his U.S. late night debut. He performed his new song “Cut Me.” Watch it happen below. The song appears on part one of his new two-part album græ. The first part arrives on February 21, and
0 Comments