Wild Up Releasing New Recording of Julius Eastman’s Femenine


Wild Up Releasing New Recording of Julius Eastman’s Femenine

The L.A. collective has shared an excerpt from the avant-garde composition
Julius Eastman
Julius Eastman, photo by Ron Hammond

Los Angeles–based musical collective Wild Up are releasing studio recordings of late composer Julius Eastman’s work Femenine. Julius Eastman Vol. 1: Femenine will arrive June 18 via New Amsterdam, kicking off Wild Up’s multi-volume anthology celebrating Eastman. Today (April 7), Wild Up has released an excerpt from Femenine. Hear it below.

Eastman was an avant-garde composer who wasn’t fully appreciated for his work until after his death in 1990. He worked and performed in the downtown New York music scene, between the worlds of disco, experimental, and classical. Julius Eastman Vol. 1: Femenine marks the first time New Amsterdam has released works from a late composer.

Read “What Slave Play Writer Jeremy O. Harris Is Listening to Right Now,” featuring a discussion of Eastman, over on the Pitch.

Julius Eastman Vol. 1: Femenine:

01 Prime
02 Unison
03 Create New Pattern
04 Hold and Return
05 All Changing
06 Increase
07 Eb
08 Be Thou My Vision / Mao Melodies
09 Can Melt
10 Pianist Will Interrupt Must Return

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Watch Mudhoney Unveil Tunnel Boring Machine Named After Them
Bobby Brown Blames Nick Gordon for Whitney Houston, Bobbi Kristina’s Deaths
iLoveMakonnen Releases Surprise New Album My Parade: Listen
“Bloody Mary” or “Plague”? Ryan Murphy’s “American Horror Story” Poll is Down to the FINAL TWO Choices
Take the Trip: ‘In the Earth’ and the Trippiest Genre Sequences of All Time

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *